Coffee Season

Hello, hello! Summer FLEW by – and now we are entering fall, my hands-down favorite season. The cooler temperatures make me want a hot cup of coffee more than I normally do – and trust me, I want coffee just about any time of day, any time of year. Coffee is my comfort; it’s what I drink when I want to wake up, as well as when I want to relax. It’s what I share with family and friends while catching up about the up’s and down’s of life. It’s a part of who I am, and if you think that sounds silly, do a quick search of the internet for coffee memes. Looks like many other people agree with me!

Here are just a few of my favorites:

Image result for quote about coffeeSource

Image result for quote about coffee
Source

Image result for quote about coffee
Source

And I am definitely not a coffee snob. I actually prefer McDonalds coffee over Starbucks, and my absolutely favorite coffee is from Einstein’s Brothers. Have you tried their Buttery Caramel blend? If not, you need to go there RIGHT NOW and try it. And if you have already tried it, well…still, you need to go there RIGHT NOW and try it again. It’s so good!

Anywho, back to the point of this post: fall kicks off the start of the six-month season where there is chill in the air that in my mind is best warmed with a cup (or two) of coffee. So to celebrate, I wanted to share some of my favorite things about coffee. I couldn’t come up with a number that I associate with coffee, so I picked five, i.e., the number of cups I’ve had today. Which may seem a bit high, but I’m doing it for the health benefits. 🙂

So, without further ado, my 5 favorite things about coffee…

1. Coffee creamer. I don’t use sugar in my coffee, but I do love me some creamer. Usually my choice is plain half and half, but everyone once in a while, I’ll indulge in something flavored. Currently, I’m using Coffee Mate’s Creme Brulee, but my all-time favorite flavored creamer is a DIY version I posted about a few years ago. It’s creamy and slightly sweet – with the added benefit of being homemade. Try it out!

DSC_1535_2

2. Fancy coffee drinks. Most of the time, I’m a straight coffee kind of person, but there is always room in my heart and tummy for a specialty coffee drink, especially during fall. If you think I’m talking about pumpkin spice lattes, you’re absolutely correct! Starbucks brought PSLs into the spotlight, but you can also make something just as good at home. Here are three versions to try – or if you’re not in the DIY mood, save yourself some time just head to your nearest coffee house.

psl

3. Coffee makes me want to read. Personally, whenever I’m drinking coffee, the first thing I want to do is pick up a book or a magazine. I’m not sure why I associate coffee with reading, but it’s probably not a bad thing. In fact, I think it’s a very good thing!

Image result for coffee fallSource

The list of books I plan on reading this fall are:

  • Wreckage by Emily Bleeker {Side note – I’m almost done with this book, and in all honesty, I’m only finishing it just to finish it. I’ve hated just about every page, but I have a deep-rooted need to finish a book once I start it. Can’t wait to move on to the next one!}
  • Girl on a Train by Paula Hawkins {I was hoping to read this one before the movie came out, but I haven’t gotten around to it. I just borrowed it from the library, so I’m going to read this one next! I’ve heard mixed reviews from book-lovers in my life, so I’m interested to see how I like it.}
  • In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware {A nice and spooky fall read I’ll be reading with my Skim’bassadors Book Club.}

4. Coffee is comfort. I know I shared this above already, but I cannot stress it enough: coffee brings me comfort. I associate it with the people, places and things I love most in this world. It warms my body and my soul.

captureSource: My Instragram

5. Coffee is a shared love. My husband loves coffee. My mom and sister love coffee. Most of my best friends love coffee. My coworkers love coffee. There are so many people in my life who share the love of coffee with me – and I’ve found that some of my fondest memories are shared across a table and two coffee cups.

Feet warming at fireplace with hands holding coffee
Source

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go grab cup number six. Happy coffee season!

With love,

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-78-237BD790B4C69237D36BC80B87CCEE68

3 thoughts on “Coffee Season

  1. YES! All of the above for me too ❤ Remember, I did share some of my special Pumpkin Powder with you and Kendy. Mmmmm. A tablespoon of PP in a hot cup of joe will scream…come hither, sit and relax! Ahhhh.

Leave a Reply

