Mississippi Roast

Growing up, I loved and looked forward to the days my mom would make roast for dinner. The whole house would fill with the delicious smell of the tender beef soaked in gravy…just the thought is making me hungry! Roast beef piled on top of mashed potatoes – talk about a perfect comfort food.

If you do any sort of recipe searching on the internet, you probably have stumbled across the Mississippi Roast. It’s taken the world wide web by storm, and even been called the “Internet darling of a recipe” by the New York TimesI saw a variation of the recipe before on an episode of my beloved Pioneer Woman – but it wasn’t until I saw the creator of the recipe on a Good Morning America interview that I got really excited about trying it {You can watch the video of the interview here}. I thought it was so cool how the recipe started in her kitchen and then spread like wildfire – shared and shared and shared again. I know technically ALL recipes start like that, but it’s not often I randomly see them on GMA. So – Mississippi Roast, here I come!

{I can’t help but think of this episode of Friends any time I hear “Mississippi”!}

The weather has been really weird here lately. Unseasonably warm, then switching to freezing – sometimes even in the same day. Earlier this week, the groundhog saw his shadow, so that’s good news. And yes, I know the animal is historically very, very wrong about this, but he predicted spring is near, so I’m choosing to believe him. I’ll take whatever I can get. 🙂

Anyway, this week was very cold for the most part, and nothing makes me feel better about frigid temperatures than something savory cooking in my Crock Pot. My trusty friend was busy last week: Coca-Cola BBQ ribs, homemade applesauce and of course – this roast. Even without all the hype behind it, the Mississippi Roast has a few things going for it. First, it has five ingredients (if you don’t count water, which I never do) and is simple to make. Put meat in slow cooker, add everything else, wait for deliciousness to occur. Easy.

  

  
Not only is the ingredient list nice and short, but the items on it are ones that can likely be found in your pantry. It’s no secret that I love pantry cooking, so this is a huge bonus for me. The only thing I had to buy to was the meat.

The result: this roast looks, smells AND tastes amazing. Seriously – it’s one of the best I’ve ever had. It’s savory and delicious with just the right amount of spice. It’s the Tim Riggins of the roast world.

My photo of the finished product did not do the Mississippi Roast justice, so I borrowed this beautiful photo below from Table for Two:

mississippi-roast-tablefortwoblog-3

Here are my thoughts on the famous Mississippi Roast:

Pros

  • It’s simple! As mentioned before, it only requires five easy-to-find ingredients and minimal prep. Not much to it, so there’s not much I can mess up 🙂
  • It’s very tasty and comforting. And wow, does it smell good!
  • It is made in a slow cooker, so after a busy day, dinner will be already done and waiting for you.
  • It makes a ton, so it’s a good recipe for feeding a crowd, or for lots of leftovers.

Cons

  • The recipe calls for a fatty cut of meat and almost an entire stick of butter, so a healthy recipe it is not.
  • As a result of two packets of spice mixes, it’s a very salty roast. This doesn’t bother me or my husband, but if you don’t like salty foods or have to watch your sodium intake, this might be a recipe to skip. Or try making this “clean” version with homemade ranch and gravy. Bonus – that article tracks the origins of the Mississippi Roast on the world wide web.

My conclusion – this is definitely a recipe we’ll be making again, but for the sake of our waistlines, it will be included sparingly in our meal rotation. All in all, I think this recipe is a fantastic M-i-s-s-i-s-s-i-p-p-idea. 🙂

 

Mississippi Roast

From Table for Two

Ingredients

  • 1 3 lb. chuck roast
  • 1 1-ounce package of dry ranch seasoning mix
  • 1 1-ounce package of dry au jus gravy mix
  • 6 Tbsp. unsalted butter (do NOT use salted butter!)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 5 – 6 pepperoncinis (I added a splash of the juice from the jar as well, just for funsies)

Instructions

  1. Put ¼ cup of water in your slow cooker then place the chuck roast on top. I had to cut mine into two pieces to fit.
  2. Add the ranch seasoning mix and the dry au jus mix on top. Order doesn’t matter here – just try to cover as much of the roast as you can.
  3. Next, place 6 Tbsp. of butter on top of the roast, and finally, add 5-6 pepperoncinis around the roast. I also added a splash of the pepperoncini juice.
  4. Cook on low for 8 hours.
  5. Remove roast, gravy and peppers from the slow cooker. Shred and serve! Optional servings methods: over mashed potatoes or rice; on rolls for a sandwich; with roasted vegetables.
Leave a Reply

