Fall Book List

One of the (many) reasons we love fall so much is it’s perfect reading weather. There’s nothing like spending some alone-time enjoying a good book with a hot cup of coffee and a soft blanket. We hardly ever get to do this anymore, so now that time is extra special. Below are our favorite fall-inspired books.

book

Whitney: Summer reading is just like the season: light, fun and relaxed. While I enjoy a fun read every now and then, my true literary loves are sad books. I don’t know really why…but that’s just the way I like ‘em! Fall brings back the heavier, not-so-sunny topics. My must-read fall-inspired books are:

“Out Stealing Horses” by Per Petterson

“The Cider House Rules” by John Irving

“To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee

My fall reading list includes “The Canterville Ghost” by Oscar Wilde and “The World According to Garp” by John Irving.  That is, of course, after I finish two lingering summer reads: “The Pilot’s Wife” and “And the Mountains Echoed”. Actually – neither one of those books are exactly “light” summer choices… ah, well. Some habits just refuse to be broken. 🙂

Kendall: My sister is somewhat of a literary genius. She loves books, always has. She loves to write, always has. And she loves to share her passion for good literature, which I have always loved. I benefit greatly from her recommendations and some of my favorites are directly off of her “must share” list.

I, on the other hand, well, I don’t mind reading. At times, it is just what my soul needs. But one big difference between my sister and me (other than the totally different eye, hair, and skin color) is that I can’t read “heavy” books. I feel like the real world is heavy, so I hesitate when confronted with heavy fantasy worlds. I had to stop reading “Divergent” because I couldn’t get past the thought of my boys choosing to live in another sect. Like stopped reading after chapter five. I still have visions of Aibileen having to leave that poor, sweet child with her unloving mother in “The Help”. Oy. Lord, help me.

So, if you are like me, I want to recommend some lighter fare for the fall. Books that I love, that I feel cozy reading. Not really a summer-y, beach-y kind of book but something with a happy ending that still touches your heart. One that immediately comes to mind is “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers. She is one of my favorite authors. I have all of her books. Yes, all. I would highly recommend her for a light, joyful (in the end) read. A series that I thoroughly enjoyed was “The Chronicles of Narnia” (I know, it’s so 6th grade). These books are great. Every time I read them I love something new about them. I would say my favorites of the series are “The Magician’s Nephew” and “Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia”. I think I may read them again this fall…

With love,

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-78-237BD790B4C69237D36BC80B87CCEE68http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-275-A804D1FC6248AF29FC72A68ABBA8B624

Leave a Reply

