Bonfire and S’mores

As much as I love Akron and everything it has to offer, this time of year makes me miss country-living. I grew up in a town about 30 minutes outside Akron. It isn’t what I would call a “small” town, but it definitely isn’t a big place either. At about 15,000 residents, Ravenna is a good mix of city and country. We’re kind of out in the middle of nowhere, but just down the road is Kent State University – and all the restaurants, people and activities that come along with a large state university.

I loved living in a place that had all the luxuries of a larger town, but still had the small town feel. When the weather was nice, my friends and I would spend our evenings playing sand volleyball at Kent State, getting a quick bite to eat and then heading out to someone’s house for a bonfire. Far away from street lights, traffic and noise, we’d spend hours just sitting around a fire – talking, laughing and enjoying the simplicity of our young lives.
Now that we live in the city, Ryan and I settle for a fire-pit in our backyard to hold our “bonfires”, and one thing we really love to do around the fire-pit is make s’mores. I recently saw on Pinterest (of course) the idea to have a Gourmet S’mores Party. Oh yeah – I’m in. How awesome does this party look?

smore-picnic

Source

This is an invite for a bonfire I saw – so cute!

il_570xN.382855313_gzsz

Source

Or if you’d rather skip the bonfire and make some indoor s’mores:

Indoor-Smores-037

Source

Wouldn’t this be a perfect cold weather treat?!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go buy my local grocery store out of s’more supplies. Happy Monday!

With love,

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-78-237BD790B4C69237D36BC80B87CCEE68

4 thoughts on “Bonfire and S’mores

  1. I found a recipe for s’mores made in the oven. Since outdoor fires are frowned upon here, this sounded like a perfect way to enjoy this gooey treat. Yep, I was right. Although I missed the smell of the bonfire, they are delicious!

Leave a Reply

