Things I Learned Last Week

… I’m obsessed with infused water. I may be late to jump on the infused water wagon, but better late than never. I purchased these bottles from Amazon and tried them out for the first time last week. Wowza. I am in love with “mojito water” – lime slices with fresh mint. Yum, yum, yum. Blackberry, cherry and lime is next on my list to try.

… My college roommate makes the best chocolate chip cookies EVER. When Allie and another of my college housemates came over to visit me my new baby yesterday, she brought the world’s best chocolate chip cookies. She claims Pinterest deserves the credit, but Allie is seriously one of the best cooks/bakers I know. That plate of cookies is quickly disappearing! As much as I am loving the cookies, getting to hang out with two of my best friends was the sweetest part of yesterday.

… Roasting a chicken is surprisingly easy. There are a few things that have intimidated me in the kitchen in the past: grating ginger, deep-frying, anything that calls for tofu and roasting a chicken. But thanks to my sister, I decided to give roasting a chicken a try. I’m happy to report that it was fairly simple and not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. Even though the ick factor was pretty high (touching raw chicken is ALWAYS gross), I’ll definitely be doing this more often. I made chicken chili and chicken salad with the meat – and I plan on making broth with the carcass. I feel like Julia Childs!

… Winter often lasts well into April in Northeast Ohio. I didn’t technically learn this last week (I’ve lived in Ohio my entire life), but for some reason, I seem to forget it every year. And judging from my Facebook feed, I’m not the only one. Everyone seems to have their own opinion about the snow we got a couple of times last week, but one thing is for sure: we are ALL ready for warmer weather. Speaking of – it’s 48 degrees and sunny right now. Time for me to get outside!

All the best,

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-78-237BD790B4C69237D36BC80B87CCEE68

2 thoughts on “Things I Learned Last Week

Leave a Reply

