DIY Cupcake Toppers

I’m not sure when it happened exactly, but cupcakes have taken over the dessert world. These tiny little cakes have stolen the spotlight at birthday parties, restaurants and even weddings. And I don’t think they are going anywhere anytime soon. One of the {many} reasons I think cupcakes have taken us all by storm is how customizable they are. One quick Google image search shows thousands and thousands and thousands of cupcakes in different colors, styles and flavors. But of course – all those options come at a price: either pony up the money for someone else to make custom cupcakes, or spend a bunch of time making them yourself.

Well, I don’t like to do either of those things.

So, when I hosted a Seagram’s Escapes “girls night in” a few weeks ago, I decided to go a different route with the cupcakes. I purchased plain “mini” cupcakes from the local grocery and had them add some colorful sprinkles at the store. They were vanilla with white frosting, very tasty and were a great price…but…they were a tad boring.

I wanted to get cupcake toppers to match the “luau”/summer theme of the party, but I couldn’t find any that didn’t cost a lot. I mean, these little things are used for about 5 minutes and then quickly tossed when the important business of eating the cupcake begins. Therefore, it doesn’t make much sense to me to send a lot of money on cupcake toppers.

Instead, I got the idea to make my own cupcake toppers using stickers and some items I had around the house.

DSC_1536

The stickers cost $2 per pack of 26 stickers. I was able to make 24 toppers from both packs, so the cost of each topper was just over $0.16. Niiiiiiiice.

DSC_1540

Start by placing a toothpick near the edge of a plain piece of paper. Use whatever scrap paper you have around the house – the paper will not show up except on the back of the topper, and who cares what the back looks like? Not me and certainly not anyone eating the yummy cupcakes.

Then, place the sticker on top of the toothpick and press firmly to make sure the toothpick doesn’t move around. Continue until you make enough toppers. Since the sticker packets I purchased had some small flower stickers too small for one topper, I clustered a few of them together.

DSC_1541

Cut around the stickers and the toppers are complete! This is the most time-consuming part of the process, but it can easily be done while sitting outside or while catching up on your shows. And the results are worth it:

DSC_1542

DSC_1545

DSC_1547

The possibilities are endless with these! And since they are so easy and inexpensive to make, I look forward to trying many more of the possibilities.

4 thoughts on “DIY Cupcake Toppers

Leave a Reply

