Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day to all dads out there!

I could write a novel of a blog post about my dad and how amazing he is. Instead, I want to write on this Father’s Day about a cause that is near and dear to my family.

In January of 2012, my father was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (“MS”). At the time, my mom, sister and I knew nothing about the disease, except that it was something you really, really didn’t want to have. The more we learned about it, and the more we saw my dad suffer, the more we hated everything about it. It’s a horrible disease, and those who have it – and their family members – need support.

This year, my extended family members and some friends are joining the Bike MS Pedal to the Point bike ride on August 3-4. This fundraising ride starts in Brunswick and offers five riding distances:

– 30 miles (Brunswick to Oberlin),

– 75 miles (Brunswick to Sandusky)

– 100 miles (Brunswick to Sandusky, with the addition of the Kent Clapp Extra Lap)

– 150 miles (Brunswick to Sandusky and back, two full days)

– 175 miles (Brunswick to Sandusky and back, with the addition of the Kent Clapp Extra Lap, two full days)

I’m doing the 30 mile ride with my mom, Ryan and some friends are doing the two-day 150 mile ride, and other members of the team are doing the various other distances.

We would LOVE to have any and all people interested in riding to join our team! And if you can’t ride, please consider donating to the cause. When my dad was diagnosed, almost everyone I told about it had a friend or relative who also has MS. It affects so many people. Too many.

To join our team, make a donation or just learn more about MS, please visit my personal page.

Happy  Father’s Day!

5 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day!

  1. Happy Father’s Day, Bob! This is a great cause. Very proud of you, Whit! If it wasn’t Digipalooza weekend, I would think about joining you but I guess I’ll just have to donate! 🙂

  2. Congratulations on meeting your fundraising goal (and more), Whit! I’m a few hundred off at the moment, but still plugging away! I put the throwdown on my boss when I was a bit ahead of him (a few weeks ago) and now he is soundly beating me at the fundraising. Hey, but I’m not done yet! Even without a twitter, I’m going to reach out…and they will come!

Leave a Reply

