Olive My Heart – Hudson, Ohio

I’ve been remiss in posting about a wonderful gem in Hudson, Ohio called Olive My Heart. I heard about this olive oil and vinegar tasting room while reading akronlife magazine probably about a year ago. The concept intrigued me: the entire store is filled with different gourmet olive oils and vinegar that patrons can sample.

Ryan and I visited the store not too soon after I read that article, and our first visit lasted well over an hour. I had no idea how many different types of olive oil and vinegar there are – or how different they taste. The exotic names and flavors kept getting better and better with each taste. The staff was amazing and very knowledgeable.

The olive oils there included many EVOO’s from both the northern and southern hemispheres, and various flavor infused oils, including basil, garlic and wild mushroom & sage. The vinegar is all balsamic and comes in both dark and white. There are a TON of flavors, including champagne, fig, honey ginger and pineapple. Being the spice lovers that we are, we purchased a chili pepper-infused olive oil called Harissa. We also bought a dark vinegar flavored with maple.

Now, I understand that sounds incredibly weird. I thought so too, but I have become a complete and total believer in flavored vinegar. This stuff has a mild acidity and a sweet, delicious maple taste. I use this on my salads – and nothing else.

That’s right – a no fat, low-calorie salad dressing that tastes divine.

I have added a drizzle of the Harissa olive oil for a little extra kick – and that just takes it to a whole new level. We have also used this as a marinade for grilled chicken. A-mazing.

If you are in the area and want to try out Olive My Heart, stop in and do a taste testing. They have bread to accompany the olive oil and vinegar samples – and plenty of water. It’s a fun – and free! – date or girls-day-trip that isn’t run-of-the mill. And you might even find a product (or two) that you want to take home.

If you’re not in the area and are interested in purchasing some of the store’s products, they do take orders online. The website also has some recipes. I think you will really enjoy their products. I’m certainly hooked: this wonderful store has captured “olive” my taste buds.

4 thoughts on “Olive My Heart – Hudson, Ohio

  1. Whit, thanks so much for writing about Olive My Heart! How have I never heard or visited this place before? It sounds amazing! I cannot wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

