Tuesday Ten – Favorite Books

A good book has no ending. – R.D. Cumming

DSC_0456

I thought writing a “Tuesday Ten” on my favorite books would be very easy – but it ended up being kind of difficult. I quickly rattled off ten books that I would call my favorite – but then I remembered about a dozen more that I simply could not leave off that list. Therefore, the list below is certainly not all-encompassing, but it is a great representation of the books that I would call my “favorites”. I knew I loved these books because I was sad when they ended. I miss their characters, their stories, their magic. They may not be on any “classics” list – and literary experts would probably roll their eyes at my choices. But that’s ok – they meant something to me, and that is really all that matters.

1. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

2. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett.

3. House of Sand and Fog by Andre Dubus III.

4. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.

5. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

6. The Road by Cormac McCarthy.

7. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

8. Water for Elephants by Sarah Gruen.

9. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

10. The Gravedigger’s Daughter by Joyce Carol Oates.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Ten – Favorite Books

  1. Love #1 and #4!! Have you read Hosseini’s new book yet? Can’t remember what it’s called but saw it in the bookstore the other day…

    1. “And the Mountains Echoed”! No, I haven’t read it, but I am super excited to get it. I have a few books I need to get through first, but that’s definitely on my list for this summer. Man, I miss you! Can’t wait for August : )

  2. I’ve only read two on your list. I would have to agree that The Great Gatsby and To Kill a Mockingbird are also on mine though. I’ve been wanting to read a few more on yours, I just have not found the time to do so. But alas, I think that’s pretty much how it is nowadays.

Leave a Reply

