Trend I’m Loving Right Now

Country music has been showing its edgy side – and I’m loving it. While not everyone is a fan, I simply cannot get enough of the delicious mix of country and rap that is going on right now.  For example, the collaboration of Florida Georgia Line and Nelly in the remix of “Cruise” has certainly got my windows down and my radio up:

Of course, this isn’t a brand new trend, especially for Nelly. Back in 2004, he and Tim McGraw teamed up for “Over and Over” (great song, by the way). Willie Nelson and Snoop Dog bonded over a, um, common interest in a certain plant for “Superman” in 2011. And most recently, Jason Aldean and Ludacris did a remix of Aldean’s “Dirt Road Anthem”. Not all country crooners pair up to incorporate rap in their songs however: Blake Shelton raps on his latest single, “Boys Down Here” without any help.

I’m not exactly sure why I love it so much – I just know a good song when I hear it. These songs are catchy, they have good lyrics and they are different while maintaining some familiarity. So what’s not to love?

But…one country / rap collaboration I cannot get behind is Brad Paisley and LL Cool J’s “Accidental Racist”. It breaks my heart to say anything bad about BP, but man, come on. I don’t fault them for tackling a controversial topic – or at least giving it the old college try. However, I can certainly criticize them for making an absolutely awful song.

Horrible.

Just terrible.

The song has been getting a of buzz (mostly negative), but I think Stephen Colbert summed up my feelings the best. On all accounts – epic fail, guys. But please don’t let it stop you from teaming up in the future – I think you two have a lot of potential for some awesome music. However, maybe next time you should stick to what makes country music great: a good beat, heart-felt lyrics and a laid-back vibe. And it all else fails, throw in a mention of cold beer or whiskey. Everyone loves a good drinking song.

2 thoughts on “Trend I’m Loving Right Now

Leave a Reply

