My latest obsession and other randoms

Are you all tired of reading about races, signing up for races and training for races? If so, I apologize. I know running has taken over this blog lately, but it’s very hard to not blog about the things going on in my life right now. My world is mostly revolving around taxes, sleeping and running (in that order), and since I’m pretty sure blogging about taxes and sleeping would make you all run away screaming and/or bore you to death, I’ve chosen to post about running. So…here’s another. 🙂

While I was reading my usual blogs the other night, I ran across one post about an e-newsletter called Blood, Sweat and Cheers (BSC). As the blogger put it:

“BSC is a fun-loving email newsletter packed with off-the-wall activities, fitness events, workouts, and other ways to make the everyday more interesting”

I was immediately interested, so I signed up for the newsletter. It didn’t take long until I was sucked into the site. I swear, almost every article intrigued me. And once I’m intrigued, there’s no turning back. The articles I read included “Wine Country Races”, “5 Worst Fitness Myths” and “The Best Ale Trails”, among many, many others.

Tough Mudder and The Color Run move over – this site has some of the craziest (in a good way) races I’ve ever heard of! And the fitness tips and resources are great.

Are you a fan of having fun, enjoying adult cocktails and challenging your body (separately or all at the same time)? Me too. So, if you’re interested, you can sign up for the newsletter here.

And while we’re talking about crazy-themed races, I want to give a shout-out for a race happening in Central Ohio this summer. The brother of one of my best friends, Katielynn, is one of the organizers of the The Run of Nightmares, happening August 17, 2013. I support my friends in anything they do, so I told Katielynn I’d run it with her. I’m already having heart palpitations thinking about this race; it sounds exactly like the stuff my nightmares are made of. But anything in the name of friendship!

You're lucky I love you, Katielynn...
You’re lucky I love you, Katielynn…

And finally, can you all make a little wish that the weather for Northeast Ohio improves before Sunday? My running buddy / dear friend Katie and I are running a St. Patty’s day race, and right now, the weather is looking pretty brrrrrrrr:

March17weather

If not for us, I hope the weather improves for the hundreds of thousands of people who will be in downtown Cleveland on Sunday. It’s not as fun to celebrate the day when everyone is Irish in the freezing cold. Fingers crossed for 40+ degrees and sunshine!

One thought on “My latest obsession and other randoms

Leave a Reply

