So, how was your President’s Day?

How was everyone’s Presidents Day? I spent the day working, but I’m very happy for all of you who got to spend it at home. And also very jealous. 🙂

It was another Monday Rest-day on my running schedule, which I definitely took advantage of. My legs were pretty tired today because I did my long run (4 miles) on Sunday, instead of Saturday. Why you ask? Well, because I spent Saturday working at the office. Which was just lovely.

Not.

But after a good run and some errands on Sunday, I treated myself to a movie with a friend. We went to see Safe Haven, which I surprisingly really liked. I’m not the biggest Nicholas Sparks fan, but I love Julianne Hough, and now that I’ve seen this movie, I have a crush on Josh Duhamel. Besides some overly sugary-sweet parts, it was cute, funny and had some on-the-edge-of-your-seat moments.

If you aren’t aware, the movie is based in a sea-side town in North Carolina. In one scene, Julianne Hough is prancing around in a little bikini – which was a harsh reminder that swimsuit season is quickly approaching. The official start of spring is just a month away! That makes me so happy, but it also makes my heart race a little. My arms, legs and stomach aren’t quite ready to give up the full-coverage that winter clothes have to offer. While my committment to the gym has been great, I’ve been a little lax in my diet, and I’m definitely feeling the results. So in honor of spring and the shorts, tank tops and bikinis that will follow soon after, I am getting back on the (mostly) clean-eating wagon.

Dinner was thrown together with what I had on hand, and I was very happy with how it turned out.

20130218-195322.jpg

That’s a 4 oz. tilapia filet with a yummy quinoa salad, made with a 1/4 cup of quinoa (uncooked amount), 1/4 cup of shelled edamame and 2 sun-dried tomatoes, chopped. I love how eating healthy makes me feel – and this was a very satisfying meal!

On an unrelated note, I saw this really cool offer for a free wristband and wanted to share it. Take a short quiz to find out your “good doer” style, fill out your information and your wristband is on the way! They are the Livestrong-type wristband, but in six different colors, each with a good doer style on it. My quiz resulted an “idealist” – can’t wait to get my cute pink wristband!

So that was my Presidents Day – hope you all had a great one as well!

Leave a Reply

