Things Making Me Happy Today

As the title suggests, there are some things that are making me smile THIS BIG today!

1. Our new puppy, Gunner.

After many (many, many, many) talks about getting another dog, my husband finally won and convinced me we “need” another dog for Sarge. While I much prefer to adopt adult dogs rather than puppies, when a friend’s dog became pregnant (surprise!) with mastiff-mix puppies, it seemed like the perfect fit. Enter Gunner: the 8-week old, 17-pound addition to our family.

20130214-162441.jpg

Even though taking care of a puppy is a TON of work, we love having him. He seems to be fitting in just fine – and we hope that Sarge eventually warms up to him. He’s getting used to him…slowly…but for now, Sarge is happy just playing keep-away from Gunner.

20130214-162520.jpg

2. Making gift baskets.

I wrote about doing this for a friend’s baby shower last summer, but I just want to say it again: I love making gift baskets. I really should do this more often for people, because it really is a ton of fun. Plus, a basket full of gift that costs $25 looks waaaaaaay nicer than a $25 gift card. And in my opinion it’s a much more thoughtful, personal gift.

Anyway, a few months ago my friend Deanna asked if I would make a gift basket to auction off for a fundraising event she is helping organize. I jumped at the chance, and even got another friend to make a basket (which wasn’t hard to do at all – she is SUPER great at making these things!). I decided on a “Happy at Home” theme, and kept the color scheme red and white.

The basket includes:

* The book Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin (I haven’t read it but have heard it’s great – and it’s what the “Happy at Home” theme is centered around!)
* Two “Keep Calm and Carry On” mugs, one red and one white (sort of like this, but a little fancier)
* A wintry soup mix, to fill bellies on cold winter days
* A bag of Joe coffee (Love the bright red bag this coffee comes in!)
* A yummy smelling candle
* Milk Chocolate Lindor truffles (These are my absolute FAVORITE! And it was such a shame that the entire bag of truffles wouldn’t fit in the basket. I took one for the team and ate the extras. It’s called sacrifice, people.)
*Aloe-infused socks (sooooo soft)

The basket itself is actually a black canvas tote with a pretty damask design on the inside. Topped off with a sparkly red bow, the basket is complete! I love it – I wish I didn’t have to give it away, but since it’s for a good cause, I guess I will. 🙂

20130214-162530.jpg

And here is the adorable “Tea and Biscuits” basket Katie made:

20130214-172017.jpg

3. Ideas!

About a year ago, I started this blog, not really knowing WHAT I wanted to do with it, just that I wanted to DO it. I’m still trying to nail down this whole blog thing, but I’ve had so much fun with it over the past 12 months – it’s amazing what a little idea can become!

I’ve had a few more ideas sprout recently, and I can’t wait to see what they grow into. A few projects with my sister, a book club with my co-worker-turned-good-friend-and-wine-buddy Amy and combining two of the things I love into a volunteer opportunity. Great things to look forward to!

4. Joining a running club

I resolved this year to be committed, but I’ve also resolved to be committed to those things that hold one or more of the following:

1. It is for / important to someone I love;

2. It improves my health, brings me happiness and/or contributes to making me an overall better person; or

3. I just really, really want to do it.

Today, I’ve committed to joining the Summit Athletic Running Club (SARC) with my abovementioned friend Katie, and I couldn’t be more excited! The club sounds like a wonderful group of people, and I’m looking forward to using it as a way to stay motivated to run after the Nashville half is over. Speaking of the Nashville half…

5. The Nashville half is getting closer!

Yes, April 27 is still well over 2 months away, but it’s getting closer and closer! I definitely need a little trip away from real life, and I’m so excited to be spending time in my favorite city with my husband and some good friends.

Plus, since my old running shoes are, well, old, I’ve decided to get a new pair. It’s all in the name of pain-free running! These lovely gals have grabbed my attention:

runningshoes

Those are the Asics GT-2000 in Electric Melon and Turquoise. Love ’em.

6. Some new country music

There are some new songs out right now in country music that just make me JAM! I’ve especially been rocking to these two fine tunes:

I love how music can just totally improve your mood. These two songs definitely do it for me!

Have a great weekend, everyone! Hope there is plenty to make you happy today and all weekend.

2 thoughts on “Things Making Me Happy Today

Leave a Reply

