Rest Day

Happy Monday! We made it through our first weekend in February and the snow continues to fall upon us in Northeast Ohio. Keep holding on, everyone: spring will be here before we know it!

An update on my Super Bowl pick: turns out I cheered for the wrong team. Or rather, I picked the LOSING team. As a Browns fan, I know the two do not go hand in hand. But the 49er’s played a good game – I thought they were going to come back and win! I think this year’s Super Bowl was a great one – the game was exciting, most of the commercials were entertaining and we even got to experience a power-outage.

And as it always does, Sunday turned into Monday. It was back to work for a lot of us, which I’m sure not many were thrilled about. Today is no ordinary Monday for me: today is the first official day of my 12-week half-marathon training program. Since I’m pretty sure I ate my weight in Doritos at my sister’s Super Bowl party yesterday, I was reeeeaaaally not looking forward to going to the gym today. I’m sure you can imagine my absolute joy when I looked at what today held for me on the training calendar:

Day 1: REST

YES! I guess it’s not Monday Runday for me! I think it’s kind of funny that Day 1 of a half-marathon training program is “Rest”, but I’m not complaining! If there is one thing I know how to do well, it’s resting.

So after work, I put on sweats and spent the evening cuddling with Sarge. Ryan is at work until tomorrow morning, but I hear he’s enjoying his rest day too. I can’t think of anything else I would have rather been doing on this cold, snowy night. Yes, I technically should have gone to the gym today, but I had a crazy busy weekend that left me exhausted this morning. Just as with running, we need rest days in life, too.

Unfortunately, as with all good things, this rest day is coming to an end. Four-thirty tomorrow morning is going to come way too soon, so I’m off to bed. Good night, all!

Leave a Reply

