My Reading List – 2012

Reading has always been my “thing”. I was that kid who anxiously awaited our school’s summer reading list and then spent the first few weeks of summer devouring every wonderful word.

Unfortunately, getting distracted is another one of my “things”, so while I started every summer revved up about reading, I was quickly sidetracked by swimming pools, basketball camp and all of the other things summer break had to offer.

My love for the written word has never left me, but like every other adult, as my age increases, so does the number of “to do’s” I try to cram into everyday. Over the years, reading for pleasure has fallen farther and farther down my priority list. This is a problem for me, as the more I read, the more I feel like a well-rounded adult (and like I’m all smart and stuff). So, early this year, I made it my goal to read 24 books in the year 2012. At two books a month, I thought this goal was definitely doable.

True to form, I started off strong, finishing 7 books by the beginning of March. And then also true to form, I didn’t pick up a book for most of March OR April. To be fair, that’s right in the heat of tax season, so my brain was focused on sleep, not reading for pleasure. I rebounded well and was able to read about a book a month through the summer and early fall, so I thought I was still on track. That is until the harsh reality of simple math set in when I checked my year-to-date book list last week on Shelfari. I got an “uh oh” feeling when I only saw 18 books read so far in 2012.

I do not like losing, even in something as trivial as this. Luckily, 2012 is here to stay for almost another month! Twenty-two whole days, combined with some upcoming time off of work = I can knock these last 6 books out, no problem, right? Right.

For fun, I’ve listed the books I’ve read so far in 2012, along with the ones that will get me to 24 books by the end of the year. The little * next to a book means I really, really liked it and recommend it to other lovers of literature. Have you read any of these books? I’d love to hear your thoughts. And please, please, please pass on any recommendations for other books I should be reading! I’m starting to put together my reading list for 2013. I’m actually thinking of doubling 2012’s goal for the upcoming year. Go big or go home, right? Did I mention that setting ridiculous goals is also one of my “things”? 🙂

Books I Read During 2012
Flashforward by Robert J. Sawyer
The Perks of Being a Wallflower* by Stephen Chbosky
Divergent by Veronica Roth
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
Follow Your Heart by Susanna Tamero
Crazy Ladies by Michael Lee West
The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
No Country for Old Men* by Cormac McCarthy (one of my favorite authors)
The Gravedigger’s Daughter* by Joyce Carol Oates
Winter’s Bone* by Daniel Woodrell
One for the Money by Janet Evanovich
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time* by Mark Haddon
As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner
Mudbound by Hillery Jordan
Half-Broke Horses* by Jeannette Wells
The Glass Castle* by Jeannette Wells
Stiltsville by Susanna Daniels
Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

Books I’m Currently Reading
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

Book I Plan to Read
Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Room by Emily Donoghue
The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

6 thoughts on “My Reading List – 2012

Leave a Reply

