High Five Friday 11-16

What is “High Five Friday”? It’s a weekly posting I do to remind myself of all the good things that have happened to me during the week, no matter how small they are. Bad things happen in this world. That’s one thing we unfortunately cannot get away from. But these posts keep me focused on all I have to be thankful for in my life, instead of all the chaos and tragedy going on. Reminding myself of the joy and happiness in my life really does have a positive impact on my outlook on life. So I challenge you to try it. Take five minutes and write down five positive things that have happened to you this week. They don’t have to be huge, life-changing events; as you can see from my list below, nothing out of the ordinary really happened to me this week. But once I focus on that small, ordinary event, it becomes extraordinary. I know it’s cliché, but the power of positive thinking is truly amazing!

This week I found myself getting hurt from surprising sources. I caught myself dwelling on that today, so it’s the perfect time to do my “high five” for this week – and thankfully, I felt a little better after writing them down. I’ll be seeing plenty of friends and family this weekend, so I hope to be out of this “funk” very soon! Hope everyone has a great weekend!

1. I spent last weekend with my best, Lindsey. She has two sons: one who is five years old (and my godson!) and one who just turned four months old. I had a relaxing weekend, shopping with L, playing games with my godson and holding the little one. And I have an inch to eat more vegan food now (thanks, Tim and Lindsey! haha).

2. Veteran’s Day was this past Sunday, so to celebrate my favorite veteran, Ryan and I went out for dinner and drinks on Monday night. We also celebrated my five-year anniversary at work. I just love hanging out with that guy 🙂

2b. To celebrate my other favorite veteran, I had lunch with my dad yesterday!

3. I went out to dinner with three of my best friends from high school. We were there for almost 2.5 hours (and on a school night! We are rebels.). I had a blast, girls – and as always, let’s do it again soon!

4. I took a few steps towards one of my goals. They weren’t huge – and I might not succeed at them, but it’s something. I’m moving forward. And that makes me happy for the future.

5. Ryan not only approved the Advent calendar I put together, he ENTHUSIASTICALLY approved it! I was a little worried, since the list I put together involved going to the ballet and several shopping trips. But he didn’t disappoint! And, let’s be honest: even if he hated every single item on that list, he would still do it. It amazes me what that man will do to make me happy, and for that, I consider myself very lucky. But I am glad he’s excited about it; forcing holiday cheer into his heart would have really put a damper on all my being holly and jolly.

Leave a Reply

