High Five Friday 11-9

What is “High Five Friday”? It’s a weekly posting I do to remind myself of all the good things that have happened to me during the week, no matter how small they are. Bad things happen in this world. That’s one thing we unfortunately cannot get away from. But these posts keep me focused on all I have to be thankful for in my life, instead of all the chaos and tragedy going on. Reminding myself of the joy and happiness in my life really does have a positive impact on my outlook on life. So I challenge you to try it. Take five minutes and write down five positive things that have happened to you this week. They don’t have to be huge, life-changing events; as you can see from my list below, nothing out of the ordinary really happened to me this week. But once I focus on that small, ordinary event, it becomes extraordinary. I know it’s cliché, but the power of positive thinking is truly amazing!

WOW. Has it really been since October 5 that I’ve written a post on here?! Needless to say, the past month has FLOWN by! Instead of doing a “high five” of the week, I want to do a “high five” of the past month. So much has happened over the past few weeks!

1. I took a trip to NYC with two of my best friends: Katie and Deanna. I have to say: I have never had a more eventful trip to that city, and I’ve been there many times. Thanks for such a fun trip, girls! I will forever hold that close to my heart.

20121109-112130.jpg
With our cupcakes from Magnolia Bakery
20121109-112155.jpg
D – I will now always be able to tell people “My friend got hit by a car in NYC!”

2. Ryan and I went on a long weekend trip together, just the two of us. We hardly get to see each other these days, let alone spend quality time together, so I was really looking forward to this trip! We first went to Indianapolis, IN, where we stayed in a fancy downtown hotel (Thanks, Priceline Name-Your-Own-Price!) and went to the Cleveland Browns / Indianapolis Colts game. We tailgated and went to the game with two fellow-Heidelbergers and randomly ran into one of Ryan’s friends from his time at Ohio University. We couldn’t have asked for better weather; the day was perfect! From there, we drove down to Lexington, KY for a Kentucky Bourbon Trail tour. Ryan was in heaven for that 🙂

20121109-112230.jpg
Hanging out with friends before the Browns game. Downtown Indy rocks!
20121109-112300.jpg
Pit stop from Indy to Lexington: in Cincinnati for some Sky Line Chili!

 3. My immediate family had another “Syrian Cooking Day”. We spent the day working hard to prepare our favorite dishes that our Syrian family has been preparing for years. But even though we spent close to seven hours on our feet in the kitchen, time flew by. We told stories from when Kendall and I were little (I swear, I will never live down that one Easter video), remembered our much-missed relatives and all the wonderful things they did and laughed about our follies in the kitchen (which were mostly mine). Best of all, we got to enjoy the fruits of our labor for dinner (and the leftovers during the week). I really hope we keep this tradition alive!

 4. I got to spend an entire Sunday with my college roommate, Allie. A few days before, I asked her “Want to go to IKEA in Pittsburgh this Sunday?”. The enthusiasm in her “YES” response is one of the many, many reasons I love her. I got soooo much stuff we needed for the house (including a new down comforter for our bedroom, that Sarge is enjoying below) and got to spend eight hours with the girl I spent every night with for three years in college. Thanks, Al!

20121109-112456.jpg
Sarge thinks everything we buy is for him. He’s sort of right…

5. My fifth high five of the month is my “catch-all” for all of the happy memories I made during the past few weeks: dinner with friends from Pennsylvania, Tosh.O marathons with Ryan, seeing some Heidelberg friends for Halloween, feeling overwhelming grateful for the love of our families’ friends (Peloses and Hudsons, I’m talking to you!)…and so many more people, places and events that have put a smile on my face over the past month. Love you all!

4 thoughts on “High Five Friday 11-9

  1. HAHA Thank you girls for a great first experience in NYC (getting hit by a car was just a minor set back!) People still looking at me like I’m joking when I tell that story! lol I’m so glad we did this and hope we can plan some future endeavors together!!!

    1. I STILL laugh about it when I tell people. I’m so, so, so thankful you are ok – but man, I can’t believe it! That and us meeting John Slattery – what a great trip!

  2. Actually the logic behind this ”HIGH FIVE” post can be comparable with the hidden aspect existing in our lively Universe I guess. Actually, I had read about writing this sort of stuffs in ”The Secret” and watched in one of the psychology related documentary as well. Remembering about the past (as far as you can) would definitely gives initiation and better working of our brain cells. This post reminds yourself about the past weak and glad to know about the events you had those days. Have a nice read through this. God bless. Cheers.\m/ 🙂

    Rahul

Leave a Reply

