High Five Friday 9-28

What is “High Five Friday”? It’s a weekly posting I do to remind myself of all the good things that have happened to me during the week, no matter how small they are. Bad things happen in this world. That’s one thing we unfortunately cannot get away from. But these posts keep me focused on all I have to be thankful for in my life, instead of all the chaos and tragedy going on. Reminding myself of the joy and happiness in my life really does have a positive impact on my outlook on life. So I challenge you to try it. Take five minutes and write down five positive things that have happened to you this week. They don’t have to be huge, life-changing events; as you can see from my list below, nothing out of the ordinary really happened to me this week. But once I focus on that small, ordinary event, it becomes extraordinary. I know it’s cliché, but the power of positive thinking is truly amazing!

What a great week for catching up with friends and family!

1. I had a fun happy hour with two of my favorite co-workers. We went to Bricco in downtown Akron; I hadn’t been there in a long time, and that happy hour made me realize how much I miss it! Their dirty martinis are second only to Wasabi’s. Yum!

2. I found out another friend is moving back to the Fairlawn area! Can’t wait!

3. I spent a beautiful fall Sunday with girlfriends from college and their families. The day was perfect: great food, relaxed and fun conversations and the chance to just be around some of my best friends. And while I loved catching up with my friends, it was these little cuties who stole the show:

20120925-091642.jpg

Aren’t they adorable! That’s Bridget, Maxim and Lily.

4. It’s a tradition in our family to enjoy a pumpkin Blizzard from Dairy Queen each fall. On Saturday, my mom, dad and I did just that. My only regret was that I got a small! If you haven’t tried one, you must! They are delicious. Or, if you’re in the mood to make you’re own, try out my pumpkin ice cream recipe.

5. Akron has been a-buzz with excitement all week as the city prepares for the Akron Marathon tomorrow morning. I can’t wait to get downtown bright and early tomorrow morning to participate in this amazing event. Good luck to all my loved ones who are running!

Leave a Reply

