High Five Friday 8-31

What is “High Five Friday”? It’s a weekly posting I do to remind myself of all the good things that have happened to me during the week, no matter how small they are. Bad things happen in this world. That’s one thing we unfortunately cannot get away from. But these posts keep me focused on all I have to be thankful for in my life, instead of all the chaos and tragedy going on. Reminding myself of the joy and happiness in my life really does have a positive impact on my outlook on life. So I challenge you to try it. Take five minutes and write down five positive things that have happened to you this week. They don’t have to be huge, life-changing events; as you can see from my list below, nothing out of the ordinary really happened to me this week. But once I focus on that small, ordinary event, it becomes extraordinary. I know it’s cliché, but the power of positive thinking is truly amazing!

I posted nothing all week – and am now bombarding you with two posts in one day! 🙂

1.Ryan and I went to a Goose Island beer tasting at The Rail earlier this week. Shameless plug for one of our favorite Akron-area restaurants: The Rail is a new burger place at the Summit Mall. The atmosphere is modern, relaxed and fun. And the burgers: AMAZING. They only use locally raised beef, and the toppings are unique (the red onion jam is a must-try). Plus, they have a huge beer selection and old-school-type desserts (think milkshakes and sundaes in a mason jar). I snapped a picture of the Ice Cream Sunday I got while there for dinner a few months ago. Anything served in a mason jar is a-ok in my book:

20120831-112316.jpg

Back to the Goose Island tasting: so fun! We added one of their beers to our list of favorites (it’s called Sophie, and we’re told the only place in Akron guaranteed to have it is West Point Market). We sat with two women and really enjoyed getting to know them. One of them is also a CPA in Akron, however, she is going back to school to be a math teacher. I was instantly jealous and still am. Definitely something to think about…

2. I was going through some boxes of old text books (don’t ask me why) when I came across some novels I’d bought at a garage sale years ago. One of those books is Crazy Ladies by Michael Lee West. I’m only half-way through the book, and I can tell it’s going to be one of my favorites. It’s about the relationships of a mother, her daughters and her granddaughters. Anyone with a daughter or sister will definitely be able to relate to this. I’m so happy I found this forgotten treasure.

3. Ryan was home for four nights this week. Even though I didn’t get home before 8:30 pm any night this week, I love it when I come home to him.

4. Last fall, we were asked to join a young married group through our church, St. Hilary. The group of six couples met once a month for a few months, but because of everyone’s busy schedules, we stopped earlier this year.  I was so excited to get an email from one of the couples this week, inviting us all to start this up again.

5. Wedding season starts for us this weekend! I’ve been looking forward to our friends Dan and Nikki’s wedding tomorrow all week. We’ll get to spend the night with friends from college, specifically two of our best friends, Brian and Shannon Lichty. (Shannon is another one of my friends with a blog. For some heart-warming posts about life with her husband and new daughter, check out her blog here.)

Happy Labor Day weekend! Hope everyone’s holiday is safe and fun.

4 thoughts on “High Five Friday 8-31

  1. Whit,
    I just want to say thank you for sharing these with us/me every week 🙂 I’ve been having such a hard time with a lot of things lately and your weekly post’s always remind me to be thankful- even for the smallest things. I have started keeping a list of my “weekly 5” and it deffinitly helps in those weak moments! Always enjoy catching up on your blog!

Leave a Reply

