DIY Pumpkin Ice Cream

Because of my younger sister, I have officially become giddy about fall. As a general life-rule, I do not allow myself to “wish” time away, but thanks to all of Kendall’s autumn-related pinning going on, I cannot help myself. My mind keeps wandering to the bounty of awesomeness that is fall. All of the pumpkin flavored food and drinks. All of the cozy decorations. And the boots, my goodness, the boots!

But back to reality for a second: it is currently 83 degrees outside and the only people wearing boots are either crazy or in the construction business. And my local Starbucks is unwilling to make me a pumpkin latte, even when I say “pretty please”. Something about “seasonal” limitations. Darn it, Kendy! I am shaking an angry fist in the general direction of Stow. Or, at least I think it’s towards Stow. If not, I just sent Tallmadge some really bad vibes. Sorry, Blue Devils…

Anyway, even though I am currently stuck in all this sunshine and fantastic summer weather, I can still enjoy a little piece of fall, right? My parents came back over tonight so my mom could help me single-handedly finish wallpapering the library.

[Side note: my first wallpapering experience taught me two things.

1. I am terrible at wallpapering. Simply horrible at it. And if my mom ever tells you differently, she is lying.

2. Wallpapering takes FOREVER. Our library is by no means a large room, so I thought we could knock it out in one Sunday afternoon. I was wrong.]

To show my appreciation for her help, I made a special lil’ somethin’ for dessert: pumpkin ice cream. It was so easy, and it takes so good. Seriously. You’ll want to send me a present after trying it.

Let me precede the recipe by clarifying one thing: I am not a “from scratch” person. To me, a “home-made” apple pie is one that I purchase from the freezer section at Giant Eagle and heat in my oven. Since I made it at home, it counts as home-made. End of discussion. So, this DIY pumpkin ice cream in no way requires you to actually make ice cream from scratch. I promised easy, and I will deliver.

Pumpkin Ice Cream
Serves 8

– 1.5 quart container of fat-free vanilla ice cream, slightly thawed
– 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
– 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice
– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1. In a medium bowl, mix all ingredients together. Stir long enough that pumpkin and spices are distributed evenly throughout the ice cream, but not until the ice cream is liquid.

2. Transfer to a freezer-safe container and freeze for at least 2 hours. Serve.

The ice cream is good enough to eat alone, but because I was feeling fancy-pants last night, I made mini-trifles with a few extra ingredients:

20120731-215803.jpg

In each trifle, put about 1/8 of the pumpkin ice cream. Crumble one graham cracker and put on top of ice cream. Add as much whipped cream as your heart desires and finish it off with a dash of cinnamon.

20120731-215811.jpg

Incredible. I fancy myself as an expert in pumpkin desserts, and I must admit, this one is pretty amazing. If you do choose to send me a present, I enjoy Merlot, dark chocolate and one-hundred dollar bills. 🙂

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “DIY Pumpkin Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

