High Five Friday 7-27

Bad things happen in this world. That’s one thing we unfortunately cannot get away from. I do these “High Five Friday” posts to remind myself of all the good things that have happened to me during the week, no matter how small they are. They keep me focused on all I have to be thankful for in my life, instead of all the chaos and tragedy going on. Reminding myself of the joy and happiness in my life really does have a positive impact on my outlook on life. So I challenge you to try it. Take five minutes and write down five positive things that have happened to you this week. They don’t have to be huge, life-changing events; as you can see from my list below, nothing out of the ordinary really happened to me this week. But once I focus on that small, ordinary event, it becomes extraordinary. I know it’s cliché, but the power of positive thinking is truly amazing!

1. My awesome new “I like big mutts and I cannot lie” tote bag made its debut at the gym. Great birthday present, Mom!

20120725-133614.jpg

2. The Zac Brown Band, one of my all time FAVORITES, is coming to the Akron area in September. And guess who has tickets? That’s right: this girl! We’ll be joining a few of our friends as well, and I’m sure there will be plenty of others going. I seriously do not think it is possible for this band to have a bad song. My iTunes is full of their stuff, and I have all of their CDs (yes, I still buy CDs). This concert will be the perfect farewell to summer.

3. I purchased all the supplies to wallpaper the library, and my mom is coming over this Sunday to help me put it up. And by “help” me, I mean she’s going to pretty much have to tell what to do every step of the way. Thank goodness she is a patient woman. This could get ugly…

4. After spending only one night at home over the past week, Ryan is finally back at Casa de Bowers! I’m so happy to have him home, but the highlight of my week was when I was saying goodbye to him this morning. Still half asleep, he smiled and said, “Just hearing you get ready this morning made my happier than I’ve been all week. I’m so glad to be home.” My heart melted.

5. I had dinner with some girlfriends from high school on Monday night (filled with lots of talk of our up-coming 10 year reunion), drinks with a co-worker-turned-friend-and-confidant last night and tonight, I am going to dinner with a group of college girlfriends, most of whom I haven’t seen in years. I am so blessed to have these women in my life. No matter where we live, no matter how much our lives change, no matter how long it’s been since we’ve seen each other: it feels like nothing has changed in our relationships.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

