Cool App – July 2012

Today is July 25th, and that can only mean one thing: Christmas is just 5 months away!  I know, I know: it’s been around 90 degrees lately, so it might seem crazy to be thinking about the holidays right now, but they will be here before we know it. I’ve always found that one of the most stressful parts of the holidays is coming up with ideas and shopping for gifts, which is why I am stoked about an app I found that helps streamline the gift-giving / shopping process. It’s called “The Christmas List” and costs $0.99 in the iTunes App Store (unfortunately, I couldn’t find if this app was available for other smart phones). I wanted to share some of the features with you. I was not paid to do this – this is purely my own opinion. Hope you enjoy!

Once you download the Christmas List app, you can set up different groups of people (family, friends, co-workers, etc.) for whom you buy gifts.

20120722-221249.jpg

You can then add members to each group, complete with a profile picture:

20120722-221258.jpg

If you’re like me, you randomly think of fantastic, wonderful, perfect, amazing gift ideas for people…and then you forget them before you have the chance to purchase said gift. Annoying. With this app, you can add gift ideas and budgets to each member, so as long as you have your phone with you when brilliance strikes, no more genius ideas lost.

20120722-221310.jpg

You can even add a picture of the gift if you see it online or in a store before you’re ready to purchase.

Once you start shopping, this app allows you to track purchases. This is HUGE for me. I like to start shopping in the early fall: this is great for my budget, but bad because I tend to forget what I bought months later. Oops.

Another cool feature – you can share a gift list with others via Facebook or email. So, if my mother-in-law needs gift ideas for Ryan, I can email her the list of gift ideas I set up for him.

I’ve gotten a jump-start on a little Christmas shopping, so this app is getting mileage from me already. And just in case my phone ends up in the wrong hands (Ryan and Kendall – I’m looking at you), the app has an optional password lock.

If a free app is more your thing, try the “Christmas Gifts List Free” app. This app doesn’t allow you to create groups and is supported by ads, but if neither of those things bother you, it’s a good app to try.

P.S. My Mario Badescu samples came in the mail. I’ve been trying them out all week and must report that my fear has been confirmed: I love them. These products are amazing. The seaweed night cream is my favorite so far. I swear that stuff transforms my skin into silk overnight. Truly amazing. I see a Christmas gift for myself in my future… 🙂

8 thoughts on “Cool App – July 2012

  1. A Christmas list app–what a great idea! I, like most people, forget my list when I go out shopping, but I always have my phone on me. It’s sure to be a great tool to help easily track yur spending and stay on budget.

  2. Fabulous find Whit. I already put all of my info in. What I really like is the security code so the kids can’t get in it.

    1. Tam, that’s great! I’ve been entering lots of gift ideas as well. haha yes – I added the security code, too. Just in case 🙂

      Hope you guys are doing well! I can’t believe school starts in a month…wow

  3. That’s so awesome! I will be downloading ASAP as I like getting a jump on shopping too. I usually keep track of gift ideas on an app called Cozi but this is much more detailed. Would be good to use for wedding/birthday gifts too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

