Be a Part of the Olympics!

I would LOVE to be in London for the Olympics games this summer, however, since I’m too cheap to buy a plane ticket to get over there, my only shot would be to qualify as a participant. But…

My 400 meter dash time sucks, I don’t know how to swim the butterfly and I’m pretty sure one has to be able to lift more than 50 lbs. to be considered “an Olympian”.

So, London for the games: that simply is not going to happen.

If you’re finding yourself in the same predicament, there is a way you can be at the games in spirit: by donating $12 to the Team USA “Raise Our Flag” campaign by July 12, you help Team USA buy food, supplies and all other necessities for the Olympic athletes. Plus, you get assigned a “stitch number” in the flag the athletes will carry during the Opening Ceremonies. My stitch number is 15,062:

If you’d like, you can dedicate the stitch to someone or leave the team a message. If you’re interested, click here to go to the site.

I’ve faced the facts that I will most likely never qualify for an Olympic games (unless adding numbers on a ten-key becomes one of the games). But I’ll be watching from Akron, Ohio, cheering on Team USA and looking for my stitch in the beautiful American flag at the opening ceremonies. GO USA!

2 thoughts on “Be a Part of the Olympics!

Leave a Reply

