Uno, Dos, Tres Guacamole!

Happy Seis de Mayo! I had all intentions of posting this yesterday for Cinco de Mayo, however, my husband’s car was broken into on Friday night, so we spent yesterday dealing with that. Awesome.

Anyway, I am a HUGE fan of guacamole. But I am not a fan of the high-calorie pre-made versions, nor do I like spending a ton of time making my own from scratch. Therefore, I came up with my “Uno, Dos, Tres Guacamole” recipe. I call it this because it has three ingredients, it’s easy (actually, as easy as one, two, three) and it sounds more authentic if part of the name is in Spanish. 🙂

As I mentioned, only three ingredients are needed: one medium avocado, 4 tablespoons of salsa and 2 wedges of Laughing Cow’s Light Swiss Cheese.

20120506-210002.jpg

1. Half the avocado and scope out the inside, discarding the pit.

2. Place the avocado, salsa and cheese wedges in a bowl.

3. Mash until mixed well and to desired consistency (I use a nifty little avocado masher and slicer, like this one).

That’s it! All in less than 10 minutes. Usually, homemade guacamole can take over an hour to make. And this tastes GOOD, people! No sacrifices on taste. Plus, one serving (about a fourth of the recipe) only has 88 calories.

Sorry this post is a little late for any Cinco de Mayo festivities, but if you think like I do, guacamole is appropriate any day of the year! Ole!

2 thoughts on “Uno, Dos, Tres Guacamole!

Leave a Reply

