Hey there, Pumpkin!

There are many things I love about fall (football games, the weather and boots, to name a few), but there is one thing that I consider to be the quintessential element to the perfect fall: pumpkin. Whether they’re being used as decoration or as the scene-stealing ingredient in food and beverages, pumpkins announce that the most colorful (and, in my opinion, the most wonderful) season of the year is in full swing.

Every year, I gleefully purchase a half-dozen cans of pumpkin, dreaming all the way home about my big plans to make pies, cookies and other pumkin-y delights. And every year, I maybe use one or two of these cans because, you know, even the best made plans can fray when life gets too busy (or I remind myself that I just don’t have it in me to make a pumpkin pie). As a result, I have a small stockpile of cans of pumpkin, a few of which expire and are thrown away every year. Since I resolved in 2012 to stop being so wasteful, I decided to finally use these cans of pumpkin. And why not use them in late winter / early spring? I love the flavor of pumpkin, any time of year.

I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as my husband and I did, and I really hope that you get as excited as I did when I realized that pumpkin can be eaten every meal of the day (including breakfast) and used in much more than desserts.

1. Start your day off right with pumpkin oatmeal. De-lish.

2. Two ingredient pumpkin cake. Desserts don’t come much simpler than that.

3. Pumpkin + chili = I’m making this all the time.

4. And finally, a Bowers original: one-step pumpkin cream cheese schmear. I think this rivals Einstein Bagel’s version (but I might be biased).

Pumpkin Schmear

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

– 8 oz. package of light cream cheese
– 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
– 2 Tbsp. brown sugar (not packed)
– 2 Tbsp. skim milk
– 1 tsp. nutmeg
– 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
– 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1. Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and whip until cream cheese is smooth and free of lumps.

2. Optional – put on toasted bagel or crusty bread. Eating straight from the bowl is also acceptable.

2 thoughts on “Hey there, Pumpkin!

  1. My gosh, Whit. You are so RIGHT! Why wait until fall to savor the pumpkin flavor? Can’t wait to try the pumpkin smear. So easy. hmmm…wonder how a bit of yogurt would taste instead of cream cheese?

Leave a Reply

