DIY: Coffee Creamer

Like more and more people, I’ve become slightly obsessed with the website Pinterest. My husband swears that at least 3 out of every 10 sentences I say lately start with “Guess what I saw on Pinterst!”. The only problem with this online pinboard is that I keep adding more and more things to my to-do list. Projects for the house, recipes, entertaining ideas…I have no idea how I’ll ever find the time to do all the super cool things I find on Pinterest.

But I did come across one that looked so simple and so yummy that I had to try it right away. As advertised, this recipe for home-made coffee creamer took less than 15 minutes and was delicious.

Grab a mason jar, a 14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk, any milk of your choice (I used skim) and vanilla extract. Pour the sweetened condensed milk into the mason jar (but don’t throw the can way). Fill the empty can can with the milk, then pour into the mason jar. Finally, add 2 teaspoons of the vanilla extract. Shake, shake, shake until all ingredients are combined (only takes a couple of minutes). Enjoy!

When I made this, I was (unpleasantly) surprised to find that my husband had taken the vanilla extract to work (he’s a fire fighter and often takes food to work).  I improvised and used Torani coffee syrup (in Brown Sugar Cinnamon flavor) instead. As the recipe indicates, coffee syrup will make the creamer stronger in flavor, so I didn’t use as much as the recipe called for.

This coffee creamer tasted SO good and costs much less than the flavored creamers you would buy at the grocery. Plus, it doesn’t contain a bunch of unpronounceable ingredients and can be made in any flavor you desire. This recipe is definitely a Pinterest-inspired keeper!

P.S. Haven’t been introduced to the wonderful world of Pinterest? Want to see what all the fuss is about? Message me your email address, and I will send you an invite. But be warned: it is highly addicting!

7 thoughts on “DIY: Coffee Creamer

  1. HI Whitney! You inspired me to try this recipe this weekend and it turned out great! Instead of the milk I used half heavy cream and half almond milk. I put it in a water bottle with a spout so it was easy to pour. You’ll also be glad to know that your other post inspired me to buy ginger root for an asian salad recipe so I bit the bullet and did it! Now it’s just a matter of finding other things to use the rest for! Keep writing – I’m enjoying your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

