Never underestimate the power of a comma…

I work in a professional setting, and even though all the people I work with on a daily basis have a college degree (and most of them have an advanced college degree), the grammar police would have a field-day going through our emails and listening to our conversations. While I know I am not perfect, I do my best to stay on the correct side of grammar and punctuation rules. To be honest, the way people are communicating these days drives me nuts (don’t even get me started on “your” versus “you’re”). I saw the following picture on Pinterest a couple weeks ago and laughed out loud at my desk for a good 45 seconds (no joke). This picture, albeit funny, is quite extreme, so I can sleep soundly knowing that no one’s life is at stake because of a missing comma. However, I think its point is clear: people do notice when we don’t use correct grammar and punctuation. People like our bosses and potential clients. And neurotic people like me. So please, do us all a favor and be mindful of your spoken and written words. Grandpa thanks you.

4 thoughts on “Never underestimate the power of a comma…

  1. This is really cute subject and wow, misuse or lack of a comma DOES make a difference. Check out the book: Eats, Shoots, and Leaves. It will crack you up!

Leave a Reply

