Doggles

Surprisingly, I have not yet introduced my dog, Sarge. Which means I have yet to mention my husband’s and my “slight” obsession with Sarge. Almost two years ago, we adopted a bull mastiff-boxer mix puppy from a litter that was left on the side of the highway. As much as animal cruelty angers me, I’m so thankful that a heart-less person had no consideration for these animals, because without their neglect, we would never have had Sarge in our lives.

I’m sure I’ll have plenty more on Sarge in future posts, but today I wanted to share my latest purchase for our spoiled pup: Doggles.

A couple of weeks ago, my husband mentioned his concern about the safety of Sarge’s eyes when he has his head out the car window. Like I’m sure everyone who is reading this article is doing right now, I laughed at the absurdity, but the more I thought about it, the more worried I became. I had a new (but very real) fear of a rock, stick or bug getting into Sarge’s eye. One visit to Amazon.com and $20 later, Sarge had his very own pair of Doggles. Which he hates. Yes, I know it was logically a ridiculous purchase, but the Doggles have brought so much joy and laughter to our house. And when you see Sarge in them, it’s pretty easy to see why:

 
Sarge, wearing his new Doggles

We took him for a drive in them, and while he kept them on the entire time, he kept “accidentally” knocking them off-center every couple of minutes. We’re going to keep attempting to get him used to them, but even if he never wears them again, seeing him in them (and seeing the faces of the people in the cars next to us), made the Doggles worth every penny.

 
Oh, by the way, my Academy Awards losing streak is over: I guessed 9 Oscar winners correctly, while Ryan only guessed 3! I think our major downfall this year was not seeing either “Hugo” or “The Artist”. Anybody else guess better than 9?
7 thoughts on “Doggles

  1. That picture makes me laugh every time I look at it! I’m going to print myself a copy and keep it with me. Every time I need a smile…..

  2. Hi, Whitney! I finally had a chance to look at your blog…AMAZING!!! This picture of Sarge with his Doggles wins the prize for your best story thus far. Keep up the GREAT work!!!

Leave a Reply

